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Archive for August, 2009

August 18

Affiliate Marketing Tricks

Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments »

Hello,

Marlon here.

Today I’m going to give you a bunch of small tips that you can use to generate traffic and sell affiliate products. If you ever have trouble making sales with slower, more traditional methods, you can always pull these out and use them to make some fast cash.

There’s only one thing you should take into consideration before you get started: in order to be successful with any of these methods, you will have to have either a website or a blog. You cannot refer anyone to an affiliate link.

 

Traffic Generation Tip #1: Hand Out Fliers

Believe it or not, this is one of the easiest ways to sell affiliate products. All you have to do is find a general interest affiliate product.

If you’re an Internet marketer, you may be accustomed to selling digital products that explain how to make money in a particular niche (i.e. selling real estate, email marketing, selling products and services online, etc.)

The ‘make money’ niche tends to be a particularly good product type for this method of advertising, so if you’re an Internet marketer, you may be able to do this with affiliate products you already promote.

All you have to do with this method is

1) select a general interest product with considerable appeal;

2) write a review (if you’ve read it) or a summary of that product’s sales page (if you haven’t read it) and post it on a blog with a short URL; and

3) create some fliers. If you select a cheap product, include that on the flier.

Say (for instance) ‘Learn how to flip real estate for a mere $7. No prior knowledge required.’ From there, all you have to do is toss some images on the flier, include details about the product, and then add the URL of your blog in large, visible letters.

You can then print out several hundred; and then hire some college students to distribute them on campus or put them under the windshield-wipers of cars. And presto, in a matter of hours, you should have dozens of people visiting your blog and deciding whether or not they want to buy.

Hint: if you want to go all out, purchase some glossy postcards and use these instead. You can buy some online relatively inexpensively at the following URL: http://www.cactusmailing.com/printingprices.php.

 

Traffic Generation Tip #2: Cold Calling

Most people who have done cold calls before say they hate it. And there are certainly dozens of reasons to hate cold calling. Above all else, it requires you to contact complete strangers over the phone and more or less beg them to purchase your product. Who would ever want to do that? Yet, even though cold calling has its downside, it also has several advantages.

The first advantage is that you actually get the chance to persuade someone to buy from you through a conversation. You can use your social skills and your wit (which might be excellent) where you otherwise might have had to use your graphic design, copy, and coding skills (which could be lacking).

Additionally, you will get the chance to talk to the person and make a pitch in real time, rather than relying on her knee-jerk reaction to your blog or website. The first part to cold calling requires you to purchase leads.

You can do this at a site such as Sales Genie, which you can find at the following URL: http://www.salesgenie.com. This is one of the largest lead-procuring companies in business.

Additionally, they’ll give you 100 free leads, which you can use to test your skills. Remember to be very careful when selecting the demographic parameters that define your leads. You want to find a group of people who will be very likely to purchase your product. Once you’ve selected your leads, spend some time coming up with a pitch.

Also, come up with a list of 10 things you can say to prevent callers from hanging up – or to get your foot in the door. You can say things like ‘how about I call you back at a better time?’ or ‘would you like me to look up x, y, and z and then get back to you?’ These are all ways you can get your foot in the door; and set yourself up for a future sales pitch. From there on, cold calling amounts to improving your pitch and crunching the numbers.

Make sure your conversion rate is high enough to justify the leads you’re purchasing and the time you spend on the phone.

 

Traffic Generation Tip #3: Bumperstickers & Business Cards

You might think that bumperstickers and business cards are for desperate Internet marketers, but this isn’t necessarily the case. If you drive around a lot, a bumpersticker with your business’s logo (as well as a summary of what your business does) could accrue several hundred impressions each week.

Don’t write off this approach yet. In fact, head to http://www.cafepress.com right now and make a bumper sticker.

Creating business cards is another low-budget way to get exposure. You can have several hundred business cards designed and printed professionally for a relatively low cost. If you add enough relevant information about your site or blog, as well as information about the products and services you sell, these could be an effective tool for promotion. You could leave your business cards in stacks in high-traffic areas. You could insert them in phone books; and you could place them on public bulletin boards. As you walk around each day – doing your daily errands – you could find new places to add your business cards. Again, it’s low budget and it’s less interesting than other methods, but it works.

If this sounds like a good idea to you, you can have some cards created at the following URL: http://www.overnightprints.com/.

 

Best Wishes,

Marlon Sanders

2 Comments »
August 4

Get Instant Traffic with Pay-Per-Click

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off

Hello,

Marlon here.

In today’s lesson, we’re going to discuss one of FASTEST way to
get traffic to your website: Pay-Per-Click (We will shorten this
as PPC). You may have heard of Google Adwords, which is by far the
largest Pay-Per-Click company. Let us look at PPC in details.

First, you must understand 2 things:
1) The nature of PPC
2) Why would you want to use PPC

1) Nature of PPC
PPC is, at the very basic structure, a “paid visitor” campaign
where you pay to get visitors to your website. So, if someone asks
me if it is possible to have paid guaranteed visitors, I would say
yes, by using Pay-Per-Click. :)

Since we can pay for the traffic, PPC allows you to get traffic
instantly. You can get unique visitors to your website in just 15
minutes or less. This is great for any affiliate marketers.

However, the downside is that you need to pay, obviously.
Therefore, it is important that if you are running a PPC campaign,
you MUST monitor your campaign so that you do not overspend or
wasting money on keywords that is not getting you visitors.

There is also a lot of “maths” going on in running PPC campaigns.
You would need to understand terms and concepts like Click-Thru
Rates (CTR), Quality Score, AdGroup, Conversion Rate, Value Per
Visitor, etc. Some of the concepts will be covered in this
training course.

2) Why would you want to use PPC
As mentioned above, we want INSTANT traffic and PPC allows us to
get the visitors that we want. However, as a smart affiliate, we
want to fine-tune a bit more. Many affiliates use PPC to:
- Test out the conversion rate of a sales page
- Check on the effectiveness of keywords

Other than the above, most affiliates uses PPC just to drive
traffic to the affiliate sites.

Recommendations to maximize your PPC campaigns
———————————————-

Here are some ways to maximize your dollar spent on PPC campaigns:

1) Keep track of your campaigns
If you do not keep track of your campaigns, you may overspend and
make a loss. I have seen marketers losing as much as $1000 without
making any sales because they did not monitor. So, what do you
need to track?

First, you must ensure that each keyword is optimized. In other
words, you must try to achieve at least 1% Click-Thru Rates (CTR)
for each keyword. 1% CTR is actually 1 click for every 100
impressions made for your keyword.

The next thing is that you must be able to find out which keyword
is bringing you the most traffic. You can find out about this by
using a simple calculation which I will cover later in this lesson.

2) Remember to set a budget
In order not to overspend, it is important that you set a budget.
A daily budget of $10 would mean that you need to set aside $300
per month. A budget will also determine how many visitors will
come to visit your site. You must strike a balance between budget
and visitors. In view of budget, the next point is important.

3) Calculate your conversion rate, value of visitors, budget
This is where you need to know if the visitors are buying the
product that you are promoting as an affiliate. In order to
understand conversion rate, let’s use an example: Let us assume
that you spent $500 to get 4000 visitors to your affiliate
website. In the process you make 50 sales out of the 400 visitors.
For each sale, you make $37 commission.

This means that:
Your conversion rate is: 50/4000 = 1.25%
Your gross profit will be: 50 x $37 = $1850
Your net profit will be: $1850 – $500 = $1350
Your net profit per sale will be: $1350/50 = $27
Your visitor worth will be: $27/80 = $0.34

In looking at the visitor worth, you will know that you cannot
spend more than $0.34 bidding for the visitor. If you spend more
than that, you will make a loss.

4) Build your list
The maximize your spending, I suggest that you will build a
landing page or a review page. The purpose is the capture the
visitor’s information, thus building your list. There are
basically 2 types of pages: Landing Page and Review Page

Landing Page – Also called a “squeeze page”. This is usually a
single-page website where you will present the affiliate product
at an angle that will make your visitors “drool”. In order to
find out the product, they will enter their name and email so as
to go to your affiliate page.

Review Page – In my opinion, this is a more effective way to
convert visitors. You can have 2-3 pages of information where you
give a review of the various competing affiliate products, and you
will give a rating for each product. You will also give your top
recommendation. Of course, you are selling all the affiliate
products, but you just give a “ranking” system to the whole thing.

You will also ask for their information to build your list at the
review page. You will want to use reliable autoresponders like
http://www.aweber.com or http://www.getresponse.com

Where do you start?
——————
Currently, the most popular PPC used is Google Adwords
(http://adwords.google.com). The next biggest is Yahoo Search
Marketing (http://searchmarketing.yahoo.com). There are many other
smaller PPC companies like Bidvertiser but you should try out at
least Google and Yahoo paid solutions.

I will not cover how to setup the campaigns as these steps may
change over the months, so I recommend that you visit the websites
and open an account. Their help files are very comprehensive, and
you will be able to setup a campaign easily.

If you are looking for a good guide in PPC, especially Google
Adwords, you can try out Perry Mashall’s guide:

http://www.perrymarshall.com/adwords/

Many of us regard this as the definite guide to Google Adwords
marketing. Try it out.

Best Wishes,

Marlon Sanders

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